Himalayan Landscape!

Travelling through the Himalaya the most important part is the constant view of the Mighty Himalayan Peaks.  In the words of Ansel Adams, “Landscape photography is the supreme test of the photographer – and often the supreme disappointment.” However, in this case, I got an opportunity to click this picture while heading towards Badrinath from Auli, this majestic view of the Himalaya along with the colors of winter were a visual treat for me!

Hathi and Ghori Peaks from Auli.

I strongly believe in “Every picture has a story”, so does this one. Waking up a chilly morning in temperatures as low as -60C, it is a challenge to leave the bed. Gathering all my might, I put my first step on the freezing stone floor and was shook to my core. However, a cup of tea was a great relief! The morning started with me waiting for the sun to rise and I stand there braving the chilly winds all set to take some pictures of the majestic Nanda Devi. To my utter disappointment the sky was cloudy and the peak was not visible. Waiting for almost an hour I had almost given up, but then things started to get better, and there she was, as pure and blissful as she could be, MAA Nanda Devi. I clicked a couple of shots and then it was time to buckle up and leave. Had a quick bath (It is an adventure in itself), then some lovely breakfast, including paranthas with lots of butter, toast, and some locally made jams. Bidding my hosts from our camp, I left the lovely place called Auli as I set towards Badrinath, the Abode of Lord Vishnu. Winding through the hilly roads amongst dense coniferous forests now the only peaks visible were the Hathi and the Ghori peaks. I stopped for a while and decided to walk some distance enjoying the charm of this serene beauty of the Himalaya. Being winters, there was a riot of colors in the forest. All shades, from green to brown, from red to yellow. I stood there gazing in awe to the creation of the almighty from the outside while from the inside I felt a sense of peace and happiness which is, I believe, difficult to describe in words. Birds were ready to leave this place for the upcoming severe cold, and flocks of them headed south towards their winter refuges in the lower hills. And then just after a huge bend on the trail, there was a huge tree with its leaves reddish brown from the cold and in the backdrop stood the Himalayan peaks. It was here that I realized that this was a place to take a picture which could express my level of peace to some degree.

“And into the mountains I go, to lose my mind and find my soul” – Anonymous.

Leave a comment